Langwathby C of E Primary School

Bringing out the best in one another

Get In Touch

School Address

  • Langwathby CofE Primary School,
  • Salkeld Road,
  • Langwathby,
  • Penrith,
  • Cumbria,
  • CA10 1ND

School Governors


The Governing Body, together with Mrs Hay (our Head Teacher), is responsible for the overall Governance of the school, ensuring that it is run efficiently and effectively to provide the very best education for our children.


In brief their role is to:

  • Set the strategic direction of the school ensuring its vision, Christian values and ethos are met.
  • Develop, monitor and challenge the School Improvement Plan to ensure that standards are met and that the headteacher is held to account for the performance of the school and its pupils.
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and ensure it's money is well spent and well managed. 


At Langwathby School we achieve this through half-termly meetings of the full Governing Body and it's committees, which deal in detail with the main aspects of the work. 


Governors provide their time on a voluntary basis and the Governing Body is  made up of representatives from the school staff, parents, the Local Authority and the local diocese. 



Governing Body 2022-2023


  • Mrs Fran Stott (Chair, Parent Governor)
  • Mrs Diane Speight (Vice Chair, Parent Governor)
  • Mrs Paula Dootson-Scott (Parent Governor)
  • Mrs Becci Cook (Parent Governor)
  • Mrs Hazel Feddon (Staff Governor)
  • Mrs Ruth Forrester (Parent Governor)
  • Revd Lindsay Harrod (Foundation Governor)
  • Mrs Sally Hay (Head Teacher)
  • Mrs Kathryn Potts (Parent Governor)
  • Mrs Gudrun Ravetz (Co-opted Governor)
  • Mr Alex Terry (Local Authority Governor)
  • Vacancy (Co-opted Governor)


Governors left within the last 12 months:

  • Mrs Vee Reed (Co-opted Governor) - October 2022
  • Mrs Andrea Thompson (Parent Governor - December 2023


All the Governors can be contacted via the Clerk to Governors (Miss Olga Atkinson) at 










Date of Appointment

End of Term of Office

Appointed By

Business Interests

Mrs Becci CookTBCParent GovernorFebruary 202331/01/2026Parents


The Good Shepherd Multi Academy Trust



Mrs Paula Dootson-Scott


* Learning & CommunityParent GovernorMarch 202214/03/2026ParentsNone
Mrs Hazel Feddon

 * Learning & Community

* Premises & Health & Safety

Staff GovernorJanuary 201211/01/2024GovernorsNone


Mrs Ruth Forrester

TBCParent GovernorFebruary 202331/01/2026ParentsEnvironment Agency

Mrs Sally Hay

 * Learning & Community 

 * Finance & Staffing

 * Premises & Health & Safety

Whole School

September 2017



Herdwick Farm School

Revd Lindsay Harrod* Learning & CommunityFoundation GovernorNovember 2022 28/11/2026GovernorsNone
Mrs Kathryn Potts

 * Learning & Community

 * Premises & Health & Safety

Link Governor

October 201629/10/2024ParentsNone
Miss Gudrun Ravetz


* Learning & 


Safeguarding Lead Governor

November 201925/11/2023GovernorsVeterinary Defence Society


Mrs Fran Stott


* Finance & Staffing


Parent Governor

November 202129/11/2025Parents

Crescendum HR

Mrs Diane Speight

* Finance & Staffing

* Premises and Health & Safety

Vice Chair

Parent Governor

October 202029/10/2024ParentsEnvironment Agency
Mr Alex Terry* Learning & CommunitySEND Lead GovernorNovember 202012/11/2024Local Authority

Burnetts Legal Services

Eden Mind